Silence of the Lambs
Check Your Internet Check Your Internet Check Your Internet Check Your Internet


Directed by: Jonathan Demme
Produced by: Kenneth Utt
Edward Saxon
Ron Bozman
Screenplay by: Ted Tally
Based on: The Silence of the Lambs
by Thomas Harris
Starring: Jodie Foster
Anthony Hopkins
Scott Glenn
Ted Levine
Music by: Howard Shore
Cinematography: Tak Fujimoto
Edited by: Craig McKay
Distributed by: Orion Pictures
Release dates: January 30, 1991 (New York City)
February 14, 1991 (United States)
Running time: 118 minutes
Language: English
Budget: $19 million
Box office: $272.7 million

Short Description:

The Silence of the Lambs is a 1991 American horror-thriller film directed by Jonathan Demme and starring Jodie Foster, Anthony Hopkins, and Scott Glenn. The film is based on Thomas Harris' 1988 novel of the same name, his second to feature Hannibal Lecter, a brilliant psychiatrist and cannibalistic serial killer. In the film, Clarice Starling, a young U.S. FBI trainee, seeks the advice of the imprisoned Dr. Lecter to apprehend another serial killer, known only as "Buffalo Bill". The Silence of the Lambs was released on February 14, 1991, and grossed $272.7 million worldwide against its $19 million budget. It was only the third film, the other two being It Happened One Night and One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest, to win Academy Awards in all the top five categories: Best Picture, Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Director, and Adapted Screenplay. It is also the first (and so far only) Best Picture winner widely considered to be a horror film, and only the third such film to be nominated in the category, after The Exorcist in 1973 and Jaws in 1975. The film is considered "culturally, historically or aesthetically" significant by the U.S. Library of Congress and was selected to be preserved in the National Film Registry in 2011. A sequel titled Hannibal was released in 2001 with Hopkins reprising his role, followed by two prequels: Red Dragon (2002) and Hannibal Rising (2007).

To know more:-

Major Awards:

Oscar: win 5, nominated 7
British Academy: win 2, nominated 9
Golden Globe: win 1, nominated 5